+234 903 037 8374


Department of Physics

Background of the Programme

The Department of Physics is among the very first departments at the new University in 2013. As the register indicates Physics core courses both laboratory and classroom were offered to the inaugural class of enthusiastic young men and women. Research was not far behind, as Lecturers from various Disciplines are engaged in research and publications. The 400 Level students are also mandated to carry a research in any field of their interest the department is yet to graduate any student but is currently engaged in only undergraduates training. The department also offers teaching and research services to other science based disciplines i.e. Department of Chemistry, Mathematics, Computer Science and Biological Sciences

Philosophy, Aims and Objectives of the Programme

a.         To provide students with a broad and balanced foundation of physics knowledge and practical skills.

b.         To instil in students a sense of enthusiasm for physics, and appreciation of its applications in different contexts.

c.         To involve the students in intellectually simulating and satisfying experience of learning and studying.

d.         To develop in students the ability to apply their knowledge and skills in Physics to the solution of theoretical and practical problems.

e.         To develop in students through an education in Physics a range of transferable skills of value in physics and other areas.

f.          To provide students with knowledge and skills base for further studies in physics or multi-disciplinary areas involving physics.


Admission Requirements


The entry requirements shall be at least Five (5) credit passes in five subjects including English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and any other relevant science subject at the Senior Secondary School Certificate or its equivalent. In addition, an acceptable pass in the University Matriculation Examination (UME) into 100-level is required.


Sokoto State School of Basic and Remedial Studies

Candidate aspiring to gain admission into Sokoto State University via Sokoto State School of Basic and Remedial Studies must:

  1. Successfully sit and pass the pre-admission test examined by Sokoto State School of Basic and Remedial Studies.
  2. Have obtained atleast (5) credits in the (SSCE) exams including Mathematics and English Languag., he must also have credits in Physics, Chemistry, and any one other Science subject.


Direct Entry

Candidates with two A level passes (graded A-E) at the Advanced Level in one or more relevant subjects (Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Geography, Mathematics and Physics) may undertake the three – year degree programme into 200-level.

List of Academic Staff

1 Prof. Musa Momoh B.Sc, M.Sc, PhD professor Physics/Electronics Visiting
2 Prof. Yahaya Ibrahim Yola B.Sc, M.Sc, PhD professor Theoretical Nuclear Physics Sabbatical
3 Dr Musa Mua’zu B.Sc, M.Sc, PhD Reader Energy studies Sabbatical
4 Dr. Moreh Abubakar B.Sc, M.Sc, PhD Ag. H.O.D

Senior Lecturer

Solid state physics Sabbatical
5 Dr. D. S. Bonde B.Sc, M.Sc, PhD Senior Lecturer Geophysics Visiting
6 Dr. Sani Aliyu B.Sc, M.Sc, PhD Senior Lecture Renewable Energy Sabbatical
7 Dr. Bashir Hamza Sokoto B.Sc, M.Sc, PhD Senior Lecture Physics

(Renewable Energy)

8 Mal. Usman Iliyasu B.Sc, M.Sc Lecturer II Nuclear Physics permanent
9 Mal. Abubakar Abdullahi Sifawa B.Sc

On Study Fellowship (M.Sc),

Assistant Lecturer Physics Permanent
10 Mal. Ibrahim Zakariya’u B.Sc,

On Study Fellowship (M.Sc),

Assistant Lecturer Physics Permanent
11 Mal. Anas Shehu B.Sc, M.Sc Assistant Lecturer M.Sc. Advanced Physics permanent
12 Mal. Usman Abubakar B.Sc, Ag. Exams Officer Assistant Lecturer Physics permanent


List of Technical Staff

1 Abdullahi Abubakar Argungu Chief Technologist N.D,HND Physics/Electronics
2 Abass Rasheed Technologist II N.D, H.N.D Electrical Electronics
3 Habibu Mode Sifawa Assistant Technologist N.D Science Laboratory
4 Zainab Musa Carpenter Assistant Technologist N.D Science Laboratory


List of Technical Staff

1 Abbas Rasheed Chief Technologist N.D, H.N.D Electrical Electronics
2 Habibu Mode Lab Technologist N.D Science Laboratory
3 Zainab Musa Carpenter Lab Technologist N.D Science Laboratory